I thought that might have been the setting that did it. Unfortunately, a prompt to change that setting occurred only after about 16 hours of multiple rounds of switching, uninstalling, resetting permissions for, adding permissions to, and clearing data from the Messages app, multiple rounds of turning off RCS through Google, etc. I didn’t see it mentioned anywhere in support posts or the extremely long release notes pages until after that prompt.
Admittedly, my ability to find anything useful through DDG or Google seems to get worse every week.
I thought that might have been the setting that did it. Unfortunately, a prompt to change that setting occurred only after about 16 hours of multiple rounds of switching, uninstalling, resetting permissions for, adding permissions to, and clearing data from the Messages app, multiple rounds of turning off RCS through Google, etc. I didn’t see it mentioned anywhere in support posts or the extremely long release notes pages until after that prompt.
Admittedly, my ability to find anything useful through DDG or Google seems to get worse every week.